Are you a motorcycling enthusiast, a new rider, or someone in Alabama looking to get your license? If so, you may wonder at what age you can legally hit the road on your motorcycle.
The age requirement for obtaining a motorcycle license in Alabama is 16 years old with a valid learner’s permit. On the other hand, individuals 14 and older may qualify for a restricted license allowing them to operate motor-driven cycles, including mopeds.
If you’re interested in learning more about the motorcycle and moped licensing process in Alabama, and other things you need to know to hit the road, keep reading.
Table of contents
How To Get a Motorcycle License in Alabama
Just like in any other state, there are specific steps you need to follow to obtain an Alabama motorcycle license.
- Meet the Minimum Age Requirement: As mentioned earlier, you must be at least 16 years old to apply for a motorcycle license or a class M license.
- Obtain License Endorsement: In Alabama, you must also have an Alabama motorcycle license endorsement (Class M endorsement) as well as a motorcycle’s learner’s permit. A written test or a knowledge test will be required in order to get the endorsement.
- Register Your Motor Vehicle: Together with a motorcycle safety course and test, you must register your vehicle and make sure it meets the safety requirements of the state of Alabama.
- Obtain Motorcycle Insurance Coverage According to Alabama’s Motorcycle Laws: All motorcycle riders must have proof of insurance coverage to be able to ride a motorcycle on the streets of Alabama.
- Complete a Motorcycle Safety Course: Motorcyclists must complete a motorcycle safety course and get a certificate before they can obtain their license and hit public roads. This will serve as a guide or a motorcycle safety foundation.
It is a good idea to prepare the license fee in advance. That way, you don’t have to worry about it when you finally apply for the license.
Alabama Motorcycle License Requirements
To help you properly prepare to get your special license in Alabama, we have compiled some of the most important things you need to obtain. Take a look at the following documents:
- Primary Form of Identification: You will need to provide proof that you are a legal resident in the United States, such as a valid passport, birth certificate, or social security card.
- Proof of Residency: A document proving your current address is also necessary.
- Regular Driver’s License: If you intend to obtain an Alabama motorcycle license, you must have a valid driver’s license that is not expired.
- Passport Photos: You require two passport-style photos
- Proof of Passing Rider Safety Course: As mentioned earlier, you must have a certificate of completion from an approved motorcycle safety course before you can obtain your license.
- Completed Application Form: Finally, you must fill out an application form, which is usually provided online or at an Alabama DMV office.
Important Alabama Motorcycle Laws To Know
Aside from knowing the steps and requirements to get a motorcycle license in Alabama, it is also essential to familiarize yourself with the state’s motorcycling laws. Some of the most important motorcycle laws in Alabama include:
Class M Endorsement Driver’s License Laws
According to the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency, Alabama riders must add a class M endorsement to their regular driver’s license in order to ride a two-wheeled vehicle. The state law also requires riders to pass a knowledge exam and written exam from the Alabama Department of Public Safety.
Helmet and Footwear Laws
Alabama has a universal helmet law that requires drivers and motorcycle passengers to wear safety helmets. The motorcycle helmet should have a solid exterior layer as well as a secured chin strap. In case of motorcycle crashes or accidents due to blind spots, the helmet should provide adequate protection for the rider. Moreover, riders must also wear sturdy and protective shoes when operating a bike.
One of the rules of the road in Alabama is passengers are not allowed to ride on a motorcycle unless the bike has been specifically designed for carrying two riders. The motor-drive vehicle or motor-driven bicycles should have enough space for the extra passenger, such as a seat and foot pegs. Strap or firm handholds should also be installed on the bike for the safety of the passenger.
Lane Sharing Laws in Alabama
Lane splitting is illegal in many states. This practice is not allowed in Alabama as it may lead to a traffic violation. If you are caught lane splitting, then you will be charged with a misdemeanor or even get your license suspended.
Do I Need a Motorcycle-Only License in Alabama?
A special license, restricted license, motor-drive cycle license, or whatever you want to call it, is required to operate a motorcycle in Alabama. This is a recent change in the state law, as prior to 2017, a regular driver’s license was sufficient for riders above 16 years of age.
To sum it up, Alabama requires riders to have a special license if they intend to ride a motorcycle or motor-drive vehicle.
The Bottom Line
Getting your Alabama motorcycle license is not a complicated process, but it does require you to be familiar with the state’s laws and regulations.
Before hitting the road on your motorcycle, ensure you have all the necessary documents and safety gear, such as a helmet and protective footwear.
Moreover, brush up on what Alabama requires regarding safety courses, rider insurance, and other important laws. By following the steps above, you can confidently ensure you are ready to ride in Alabama.