Do you own a motorcycle and are moving to the State of Maryland with it? New Maryland residents must register their bikes with the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) as is required of new residents.
If you register within 60 days, you can become eligible for a tax credit for a motorcycle for which the registration fee was paid in another state. If you don’t file for the motorcycle registration within 60 days, you might become ineligible for the excise tax credit. You may also be given a citation.
Active-duty military members don’t have a time limit if choosing to register their motorcycle in Maryland.
The best way to get started with the registration process for your motorcycle is to register online with the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration via their website. Use this link to register your motorcycle. Alternatively, you can visit MVA’s branch offices in person, mail your documents to MVA or visit an MVA Tag/Title service.
If you would like to visit a full-service branch, please see this link for a complete list of all branches.
If you are mailing your documents, please send them to Maryland Motor Vehicle Association, Out-of-State Title Unit, 6601 Ritchie Highway, Glen Burnie, MD 21062.
To visit a licensed Tag and Title service, please follow this link.
Table of contents
- How is a motorcycle defined by the Maryland Vehicle Administration? Does my trike also constitute a motorcycle in Maryland?
- What documents do I need to present to register my motorcycle in Maryland?
- Do I need any additional documents to register my motorcycle in Maryland?
- How much does it cost to register a motorcycle in Maryland?
- Where can I collect my title, registration, and license plate?
How is a motorcycle defined by the Maryland Vehicle Administration? Does my trike also constitute a motorcycle in Maryland?
We know what a motorcycle looks like and behaves like. Still, it’s always good to check the technical definition of a motorcycle as per the law in your state. And especially so if you ride trikes or have a sidecar.
According to the MVA website, a “motorcycle” means a motor vehicle that:
- “Has motive power;
- Has a seat or saddle for the use of the rider;
- Is designed to travel
- On not more than 3 wheels in contact with the ground; and
- At speeds exceeding 35 miles per hour; and
- Is of a type required to comply with all motor vehicle safety standards applicable to motorcycles under Federal law.”
Yes, your trike is also considered a “motorcycle” under Maryland law.
What documents do I need to present to register my motorcycle in Maryland?
To initiate your title application, you need to submit the following documents as a minimum at the time of registration.
- Proof of ownership document(s): Your motorcycle’s existing ownership document — the title. If you do not have a Vehicle title as proof of ownership from the state that you are moving out of, you can submit vehicle registration and the sale deed or bill of sale to establish yourself as the vehicle owner.
If you had taken out a loan to purchase the motorcycle because of which the title is being held by the loan issuing financial institution, you would need the assistance of MVA’s customer care. Please get in touch with them.
They will provide you with a letter to be sent to the financial institution or leasing company holding your motorcycle’s title. The letter will request the title be sent to MVA.
- Application form – The Application for Certificate of Title (form # VR-005) can be used to register for the title and get registered at the same time.
Please make sure that if you are submitting the document, then it is complete and accurate. All information submitted via the form may be verified in person by the Maryland MVA. These registration documents may include original title, bill of sale, proof of insurance, etc.
Before you enter your insurance policy details into the form, please check and confirm that the insurance conforms to Maryland’s minimum liability insurance requirements.
Note ????: However, if applying online, this form won’t be necessary to fill.
- Maryland Safety Inspection Certificate – To obtain this certificate, your motorcycle will have to be inspected at a vehicle safety inspection station authorized by the State of Maryland. To find an authorized service station near you, please visit this link.
Make sure you apply for title and registration within 90 days of the date of issue of this certificate. This form essentially signifies that the Maryland State Police certifies that your vehicle meets Maryland safety standards and is safe for Maryland roads.
Do I need any additional documents to register my motorcycle in Maryland?
Yes, more often than not, you will need documents in addition to the Proof of ownership, Title and Registration Application form, and Maryland Safety Inspection Certificate.
These documents or forms are:
- Documents needed to establish the value of the vehicle: This is the sale deed/bill of sale or the lease agreement in case the motorcycle is leased.
- Excise Credit Applicable or not: You may be eligible for excise credit if you are paying excise tax to another state through lease payments. You will have to supply the authorities with proof of monthly lease payments.
Please note this waiver is only valid when you submit your title and registration application within 60 days of moving to Maryland.
- Lien Information, Lien release, and transfer: MVA will file to have the lien transferred (assuming it exists) to Maryland against the new title.
- Power of attorney: If you are sending a representative to sign all forms on your behalf, then this representative must carry and show a power of attorney.
- Military status and excise duty exemption: If a Maryland motorcycle owner or someone in their immediate family is a member of the military of the united states, then they can claim excise tax exemption by showing proof of active military status.
How much does it cost to register a motorcycle in Maryland?
The fee for registering a vehicle in Maryland is a broken into the following categories:
- Titling a motorcycle: This typically includes a title fee, excise tax, and a security interest (lien) filing fee if required.
- Registration fee: The fee for a new registration varies by vehicle type, weight, and intended use. To see what a Maryland License Plate will cost you, check this link.
- Motorcycle Safety Course / Program Fee: This is not set by the MVA and depends on the Safety Course center.
Note ????: To get a personalized (vanity) plate, you can apply online through the MVA website or send an Application for Special Registration Plates (form # VR-164).
The form can be mailed to the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration, 6601 Ritchie Highway, Attn. Vehicle Registration, Glen Burnie, MD 21062 with the additional yearly fee (payable by check or money order made out to the MVA) and a copy of your current registration card. The process takes about eight weeks.
Where can I collect my title, registration, and license plate?
Regardless of how you applied, your title and registration will be mailed to the address you provided.
I strongly believe that this is all you should need to register your motorcycle in Maryland. If you have a question, feel free to ask in the comments below and I will do my best to answer.
If you are wondering whether you can drive a motorcycle with a permit In Massachusetts, read on →!